10/02/2015 12:29 PM IST | Updated 15/07/2016 8:24 AM IST

Five Interesting Battles Underway In Delhi Elections

Hindustan Times via Getty Images
NEW DELHI, INDIA - FEBRUARY 8: AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal with the supporters after programme recording at Kaushambi, Ghaziabad on February 8, 2015 in New Delhi, India. The former Delhi chief minister obliged his admirers and posed for pictures and selfies with them. According to exit polls, AAP appears set for a sweeping victory in the Delhi Assembly elections for which voting took place. (Photo by Sushil Kumar/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Five interesting battles are currently underway in Delhi.

The Bharatiya Janata Party is struggling to hold on to a traditionally "safe" seat for the party—Krishna Nagar. The party's chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi is in a neck and neck race with Aam Aadmi Party's SK Bagga, with a difference of barely 1,000 votes between them.

Interestingly, this was the same constituency which witnessed the biggest victory margin for any party just over a year ago during the 2013 Delhi assembly elections. Dr. Harsh Vardhan won the seat at the time with a stupendous margin of 36.54 percent votes, beating Congress' Dr. Vinod Monga. AAP was nowhere in the picture at the time.

Meanwhile, where AAP's Mahinder Yadav had barely won in Vikas Puri in 2013 with the lowest margin at the time — 0.23 percent over BJP's Krishna Gahlot — it is currently dominating the constituency with 22,603 votes, much ahead of BJP.

Congress' CM candidate, Ajay Maken, is losing dismally from the Sadar Bazaar constituency, with only about 11,000 votes, much behind AAP candidate Som Dutt's 53,000 votes and BJP's Parveen Kumar Jain's 26,000-odd votes. In 2013, Dutt had barely won with a 0.73 percent margin.

The youngest ever Delhi cabinet minister, AAP's Rakhi Birla, seems set to win again in Mangol Puri, beating old political stalwarts like Congress' Raj Kumar Chauhan and BJP's Surjeet Kumar who was detained days ago for allegedly carrying liquor in his car.

Meanwhile Manish Sisodia in east Delhi's Patparganj will likely defeat his previous ally, Vinod Kumar Binny, who left AAP for BJP last year. Binny had won the neighbouring Laxmi Nagar seat last year for AAP, defeating Congress old hand AK Walia. In this elections, Sisodia is leading over Binny with more than double the votes.